Things to do with kids in Plano, TX
Checked · All times are local Central Time (Plano time)
Coming up in Plano: Plano Turkey Trot 5K & Kids 100M Dash (Nov 26), Dickens in Downtown Plano (Dec 5), Red, White & Merry Plano Holiday Parade (Dec 12) and 1 more event. 8 always-open places. Prices and hours come from each official site.
Thanksgiving events in Plano
Plano Turkey Trot 5K & Kids 100M Dash
- When
- Thu, Nov 26 · Kids Dash 8:45am; 5K 9am
- Cost
- Kids 100M Dash $0 (ages 8 and under, register); 5K kids division $12.99; 5K $49.99
- Ages
- All ages · Outdoor
Thanksgiving morning 5K run/walk in Oak Point Park, with a donut for every finisher. Kids 8 and under can run the 100-meter dash (every finisher gets a ribbon), and an untimed kids' 5K division is open to ages 11 and under.
✓ Checked Oct 25, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Christmas & holiday events: Santa and lights
Dickens in Downtown Plano
- When
- Sat, Dec 5 · 4–9pm
- Cost
- See site
- Ages
- All ages · Outdoor
Victorian-themed holiday evening in Historic Downtown Plano.
✓ Checked Oct 25, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Red, White & Merry Plano Holiday Parade
- When
- Sat, Dec 12 · 2–3:30pm
- Cost
- Free
- Ages
- All ages · Outdoor
Downtown Plano's holiday parade, themed for America's 250th, with floats, Santa and snowflakes. The route runs from 19th St & M Ave west on 19th, south on K Ave, east on 15th and north on M Ave to 18th St.
✓ Checked Oct 25, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Storytimes
Family Storytime at Parr Library
- When
- Sat, Oct 31 – Sat, Dec 26 (Saturdays) · 10:30–11am
- Cost
- Library program
- Ages
- All ages with a grown-up · Indoor
A storytime for families featuring stories, songs and movement activities inspired by a weekly theme.
✓ Checked Oct 25, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Always-open family places
Most popular first: zoos, aquariums and museums, then nature spots, parks and libraries. Prices come from each official site; "Not stated" means the site doesn't list one.
Heritage Farmstead Museum
- Price
- $5 per person; 2 and under free
- Best for
- Ages 0–17+ (our guidance)
1890s Texas farm with historic house, barns and farm animals; Thu–Sat 10am–2pm
✓ Price verified Oct 25, 2026 · source
Interurban Railway Museum
- Price
- Free admission
- Best for
- Ages 0–17+ (our guidance)
Historic 1908 interurban rail car and station; Friday story time 11am; Tue–Thu 11am–4pm, Fri 10:30am–4pm, Sat 1–5pm
✓ Price verified Oct 25, 2026 · source
Plano African American Museum
- Price
- Not stated. See the official site.
- Best for
- Ages 0–17+ (our guidance)
Museum and exhibits on African American history and culture in Plano; open 1–6pm
Plano Aquatic Center
- Price
- Open swim, ages 3 and up: $3 Plano residents, $5 non-residents; under 2 free
- Best for
- Ages 0–17+ (our guidance)
Indoor pools with leisure areas; open swim times vary by season (check the schedule); free life jackets available
✓ Price verified Oct 25, 2026 · source
Arbor Hills Nature Preserve
- Price
- Not stated. See the official site.
- Best for
- Ages 0–17+ (our guidance)
200 acres of trails, an observation tower and a playground
✓ Details checked Oct 25, 2026 on the official website
Jack Carter Park All-Abilities Playground
- Price
- Not stated. See the official site.
- Best for
- Ages 0–17+ (our guidance)
All-abilities playground for ages 2–12 with adapted swings, a musical wall and sensory play
✓ Details checked Oct 25, 2026 on the official website
Oak Point Park and Nature Preserve
- Price
- Not stated. See the official site.
- Best for
- Ages 0–17+ (our guidance)
Plano's largest park: trails, ponds, a playground and nature preserve
✓ Details checked Oct 25, 2026 on the official website
Haggard Library
- Price
- Not stated. See the official site.
- Best for
- Ages 0–17+ (our guidance)
Children's area and storytimes; Mon–Thu 9am–9pm, Fri 9am–6pm, Sat 10am–6pm, Sun 1–5pm
✓ Details checked Oct 25, 2026 on the official website
Frequently asked questions
What is there to do with kids in Plano this weekend?
This weekend (Oct 30–Nov 1) we list 1 family event in Plano: Family Storytime at Parr Library (Sat).
What time is trick-or-treating in Plano?
Sunset on Halloween in Plano is at 6:36 p.m. Plano doesn't list official trick-or-treat hours, so plan around dusk.
What are free things to do with kids in Plano?
These are free according to their official sites: 1 place and 1 upcoming event in Plano, including Interurban Railway Museum and Red, White & Merry Plano Holiday Parade (Sat, Dec 12).
Where can kids play indoors in Plano when it's too hot or rainy?
We list 4 indoor places in Plano: Interurban Railway Museum (Free admission), Plano African American Museum, Plano Aquatic Center (Open swim, ages 3 and up: $3 Plano residents, $5 non-residents) and Haggard Library.
What Thanksgiving events can I take my kids to in Plano?
We list 1 Thanksgiving event in Plano: Plano Turkey Trot 5K & Kids 100M Dash (Thu, Nov 26). Our Thanksgiving weekend guide for the Dallas–Fort Worth area has more nearby.
When and where can kids see Santa in Plano?
We list 1 event with Santa in Plano: Red, White & Merry Plano Holiday Parade (Dec 12). Our Santa guide for the Dallas–Fort Worth area has more nearby.
Where can I take my kids to see Christmas lights in Plano?
We list 1 holiday light event in Plano: Dickens in Downtown Plano (Dec 5). Our holiday lights guide for the Dallas–Fort Worth area has more nearby.
Are there storytimes or regular kids' programs in Plano?
We list 1 everyday program in Plano: Family Storytime at Parr Library (Saturdays).
What is there to do with toddlers in Plano?
We list 4 places in Plano that welcome kids under 2, including Arbor Hills Nature Preserve, Jack Carter Park All-Abilities Playground and Oak Point Park and Nature Preserve. See all 4 above. Age ranges for places are our own guidance.
How much do Plano family attractions cost?
Prices from the official sites for 2 places in Plano: Heritage Farmstead Museum ($5 per person) and Plano Aquatic Center (Open swim, ages 3 and up: $3 Plano residents, $5 non-residents). Confirm before you go; prices change.
Our weekend search covers Phoenix Metro & Arizona for now, and more areas are coming soon. This guide is hand-checked the same way.
How we build this page: each event comes from the organizer's official website and shows the date we checked it. Prices marked verified were copied from the venue's official site; others show an estimated price level or "Not stated". A place is called free only when its official site says so. Read how we verify listings · Arizona weekend search.
See something that's off? Send us a correction.
Know a family event we're missing? Tell us about it.