Things to do with kids in Austin, TX
Checked · All times are local Central Time (Austin time)
Coming up in Austin: Caminata con Dulces: Trick-or-Treat on the Trail (Oct 31), Pumpkin Carver Fall Festival (Oct 31), Howl-O-Scream at Turner-Roberts Recreation Center (Oct 31) and 4 more events. 8 always-open places, led by Austin Zoo, Thinkery and Austin Nature & Science Center. Prices and hours come from each official site.
Halloween & fall events in Austin
Caminata con Dulces: Trick-or-Treat on the Trail
- When
- Sat, Oct 31 · 10am–12pm
- Cost
- Not stated
- Ages
- All ages · Outdoor
A trick-or-treat stroll on the trail around the MACC, with candy stations from local organizations and stories about the center's public art and history.
✓ Checked Oct 25, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Pumpkin Carver Fall Festival
- When
- Sat, Oct 31 · 12–3pm
- Cost
- Free and open to all
- Ages
- All ages · Outdoor
Free pumpkins for carving (2 per family while they last), a costume contest, food, games, crafts, a petting zoo and a haunted maze.
✓ Checked Oct 25, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Howl-O-Scream at Turner-Roberts Recreation Center
- When
- Sat, Oct 31 · 5:30–7:30pm
- Cost
- Not stated
- Ages
- All ages · Indoor + outdoor
A Halloween carnival with games, prizes and spooky fun at the city recreation center.
✓ Checked Oct 25, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Thanksgiving events in Austin
ThunderCloud Subs Turkey Trot (with Kids K)
- When
- Thu, Nov 26 · Kids K 8:15am; 5-mile run 8:30am
- Cost
- Registration required; Kids K is for ages 12 and under
- Ages
- All ages · Outdoor
Austin's Thanksgiving morning run, walk or stroll since 1991, with a Kids K for children 12 and under. Costumes encouraged; proceeds go to Caritas of Austin.
✓ Checked Oct 25, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Christmas & holiday events: lights and tree lightings
Zilker Holiday Tree Lighting Ceremony
- When
- Sun, Nov 29 · Music 5:15pm; lighting 6pm
- Cost
- Not stated. See the official page.
- Ages
- All ages · Outdoor
Lighting of the 155-foot Zilker Holiday Tree, lit by youth art contest winners, with live music and local entertainment. Free on-site parking is first come, first served. The tree stays lit nightly 6–10pm through Jan 1.
✓ Checked Oct 25, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Austin Trail of Lights
- When
- Thu, Dec 10 – Wed, Dec 23 (Nightly Dec 10–23) · 7–10pm
- Cost
- $8 for ages 12+ on Dec 12 and 18–23; no charge for general admission on Dec 10, 11 and 13–17
- Ages
- All ages · Outdoor
Austin's holiday light trail in Zilker Park. General admission needs no ticket on Dec 10, 11 and 13–17; on Dec 12 and 18–23, ages 12+ pay $8.
✓ Checked Oct 25, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Storytimes
All Ages Storytime at Austin Central Library
- When
- Wed, Oct 28 – Wed, Dec 16 (Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays) · 10–10:30am
- Cost
- Free
- Ages
- Ages 0-5 · Indoor
Stories, songs and rhymes for children 5 and under with their grown-ups.
✓ Checked Oct 25, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Always-open family places
Most popular first: zoos, aquariums and museums, then nature spots, parks and libraries. Prices come from each official site; "Not stated" means the site doesn't list one.
Austin Zoo
- Price
- Adult $19.95 · Child $16.95 (child 2-12)
- Best for
- Ages 0–17+ (our guidance)
Rescue zoo in the Hill Country; Mon–Fri 9am–3pm, Sat–Sun and holidays 9am–6pm (last entry 1 hour before close); tickets sold at the gate; under 2 free
✓ Price verified Oct 25, 2026 · source
Thinkery
- Price
- General admission $19.95 (ages 1+); under 1 free
- Best for
- Ages 0–17+ (our guidance)
Children's science museum at Mueller; 10am–5pm
✓ Price verified Oct 25, 2026 · source
Austin Nature & Science Center
- Price
- Free admission
- Best for
- Ages 0–17+ (our guidance)
Animal exhibits, Dino Pit and trails; Mon–Sat 9am–5pm, Sun noon–5pm
✓ Price verified Oct 25, 2026 · source
Zilker Botanical Garden
- Price
- $ (estimated price level)
- Best for
- Ages 0–17+ (our guidance)
Gardens with a dinosaur trail and Japanese garden
✓ Details checked Oct 25, 2026 on the official website
Bullock Texas State History Museum
- Price
- $$ (estimated price level)
- Best for
- Ages 0–17+ (our guidance)
Three floors of Texas history plus an IMAX theater; daily 10am–5pm
Texas State Capitol
- Price
- Free guided and self-guided tours
- Best for
- Ages 0–17+ (our guidance)
Free guided tours Mon–Sat 9am–4:15pm and Sun noon–4:15pm, about every 15–30 min; building open weekdays 7am–8pm, weekends 9am–8pm; closed Easter, Thanksgiving, Dec 24–25 and Jan 1
✓ Price verified Oct 25, 2026 · source
Zilker Metropolitan Park
- Price
- Not stated. See the official site.
- Best for
- Ages 0–17+ (our guidance)
Austin's big central park; city parks open 5am–10pm; weekend and holiday parking $3 per hour
✓ Details checked Oct 25, 2026 on the official website
Austin Central Library
- Price
- Not stated. See the official site.
- Best for
- Ages 0–17+ (our guidance)
Downtown central library with children's programs; garage parking free up to 1 hour
✓ Details checked Oct 25, 2026 on the official website
Frequently asked questions
What is there to do with kids in Austin this weekend?
This weekend (Oct 30–Nov 1) we list 3 family events in Austin, 1 free: Pumpkin Carver Fall Festival (Sat, free), Caminata con Dulces: Trick-or-Treat on the Trail (Sat) and Howl-O-Scream at Turner-Roberts Recreation Center (Sat).
What time is trick-or-treating in Austin?
Sunset on Halloween in Austin is at 6:44 p.m. Austin doesn't list official trick-or-treat hours, so plan around dusk. City event: Caminata con Dulces: Trick-or-Treat on the Trail, Sat., Oct. 31, 10 a.m.–12 p.m., Mexican American Cultural Center.
What Halloween events are in Austin in 2026?
We list 3 Halloween or fall events in Austin, 1 free: Caminata con Dulces: Trick-or-Treat on the Trail (Sat, Oct 31), Pumpkin Carver Fall Festival (Sat, Oct 31, free) and Howl-O-Scream at Turner-Roberts Recreation Center (Sat, Oct 31).
What are free things to do with kids in Austin?
These are free according to their official sites: 2 places and 2 upcoming events in Austin, including Austin Nature & Science Center, Texas State Capitol, Pumpkin Carver Fall Festival (Sat, Oct 31) and All Ages Storytime at Austin Central Library (Oct 28 – Dec 16).
Where can kids play indoors in Austin when it's too hot or rainy?
We list 3 indoor places in Austin: Thinkery (General admission $19.95, ages 1+), Bullock Texas State History Museum and Austin Central Library.
What Thanksgiving events can I take my kids to in Austin?
We list 1 Thanksgiving event in Austin: ThunderCloud Subs Turkey Trot (with Kids K, Thu, Nov 26). Our Thanksgiving weekend guide for the Austin area has more nearby.
Where can I take my kids to see Christmas lights in Austin?
We list 2 holiday light events in Austin: Zilker Holiday Tree Lighting Ceremony (Nov 29) and Austin Trail of Lights (Dec 10 – Dec 23). Our holiday lights guide for the Austin area has more nearby.
Are there storytimes or regular kids' programs in Austin?
We list 1 everyday program in Austin: All Ages Storytime at Austin Central Library (Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays).
What is there to do with toddlers in Austin?
We list 5 places and 1 event in Austin that welcome kids under 2, including All Ages Storytime at Austin Central Library (Oct 28 – Dec 16, free), Austin Zoo, Austin Nature & Science Center and Zilker Botanical Garden. See all 6 above. Age ranges for places are our own guidance.
What are the big family attractions in Austin?
The best-known family attractions we list in Austin are Austin Zoo (kids 2–12 $16.95), Thinkery (General admission $19.95, ages 1+) and Austin Nature & Science Center (Free admission). They're listed first under always-open places.
How much do Austin family attractions cost?
Prices from the official sites for 2 places in Austin: Austin Zoo (adult $19.95, kids 2–12 $16.95) and Thinkery (General admission $19.95, ages 1+). Confirm before you go; prices change.
Our weekend search covers Phoenix Metro & Arizona for now, and more areas are coming soon. This guide is hand-checked the same way.
How we build this page: each event comes from the organizer's official website and shows the date we checked it. Prices marked verified were copied from the venue's official site; others show an estimated price level or "Not stated". A place is called free only when its official site says so. Read how we verify listings · Arizona weekend search.
See something that's off? Send us a correction.
Know a family event we're missing? Tell us about it.