Things to do with kids in Irving, TX
Checked · All times are local Central Time (Irving time)
Coming up in Irving: Irving Turkey Trot (with Tot Trot, Nov 26), Holidays at Heritage Parade, Tree Lighting & Drone Show (Dec 5), Family Storytime at West Irving Library (from Nov 2) and 1 more event. 7 always-open places. Prices and hours come from each official site.
Thanksgiving events in Irving
Irving Turkey Trot (with Tot Trot)
- When
- Thu, Nov 26 · 8-mile 9am; 5K 9:15am; kids Tot Trot
- Cost
- Registration required
- Ages
- All ages · Outdoor
Thanksgiving morning 5K and 8-mile around the Las Colinas Urban Center, plus a Tot Trot for kids. Parking is next door.
✓ Checked Oct 25, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Christmas & holiday events: Santa, lights and tree lightings
Holidays at Heritage Parade, Tree Lighting & Drone Show
- When
- Sat, Dec 5 · Parade 6pm; park activities 7pm; tree lighting and drone show 8:30pm
- Cost
- Free
- Ages
- All ages · Outdoor
Irving's "Unwrap the Magic" holiday parade through the Heritage District kicks off Holidays at Heritage, followed by live music, photos with Santa, a drone light show and the tree lighting at Heritage Park. The city's free, family-friendly Holidays at Heritage events continue on the weekends of Dec 12 and Dec 19.
✓ Checked Oct 25, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Storytimes
Family Storytime at West Irving Library
- When
- Mon, Nov 2 – Mon, Dec 28 (Mondays) · 10:30–11am (also Thursdays 7–7:45pm)
- Cost
- Library program
- Ages
- All ages · Indoor
Fun storytime for all ages on Monday mornings, plus an evening family storytime on Thursdays.
✓ Checked Oct 25, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Family Storytime at South Irving Library
- When
- Tue, Nov 3 – Tue, Dec 29 (Tuesdays) · 10:30–11am
- Cost
- Library program
- Ages
- All ages · Indoor
A fun storytime for all ages. The first Tuesday of each month is bilingual.
✓ Checked Oct 25, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Always-open family places
Most popular first: zoos, aquariums and museums, then nature spots, parks and libraries. Prices come from each official site; "Not stated" means the site doesn't list one.
Irving Archives & Museum (with Spark!Lab)
- Price
- Adult $7, ages 4–17 $5
- Best for
- Ages 0–17+ (our guidance)
Local history plus the Smithsonian Spark!Lab invention space; Wed–Sat 10am–4pm, Sun noon–4pm
✓ Price verified Oct 25, 2026 · source
Irving Arts Center
- Price
- Free gallery admission
- Best for
- Ages 0–17+ (our guidance)
Art galleries and a sculpture garden; galleries Tue–Sat noon–5pm
✓ Price verified Oct 25, 2026 · source
Mustangs of Las Colinas
- Price
- Free
- Best for
- Ages 0–17+ (our guidance)
Larger-than-life bronze sculpture of nine mustangs galloping across a stream in Williams Square; museum and visitor center (free) open Wed–Fri 11am–4pm, Sat 10am–1pm
✓ Price verified Oct 25, 2026 · source
Cottonwood Creek Park
- Price
- Not stated. See the official site.
- Best for
- Ages 0–17+ (our guidance)
Park with an ADA-accessible playground
✓ Details checked Oct 25, 2026 on the official website
Lee Park
- Price
- Not stated. See the official site.
- Best for
- Ages 0–17+ (our guidance)
Neighborhood park with a playground and trails
✓ Details checked Oct 25, 2026 on the official website
South Irving Library
- Price
- Not stated. See the official site.
- Best for
- Ages 0–17+ (our guidance)
Children's storytimes and programs
✓ Details checked Oct 25, 2026 on the official website
Valley Ranch Library
- Price
- Not stated. See the official site.
- Best for
- Ages 0–17+ (our guidance)
Children's storytimes and programs
✓ Details checked Oct 25, 2026 on the official website
Frequently asked questions
What is there to do with kids in Irving this weekend?
Irving Archives & Museum (with Spark!Lab), Irving Arts Center and Mustangs of Las Colinas are open most days, but we don't have an Irving event listed for this weekend (Oct 30–Nov 1). Next up: Irving Turkey Trot (with Tot Trot, Nov 26) and Holidays at Heritage Parade, Tree Lighting & Drone Show (Dec 5).
What time is trick-or-treating in Irving?
Sunset on Halloween in Irving is at 6:37 p.m. Irving doesn't list official trick-or-treat hours, so plan around dusk.
What are free things to do with kids in Irving?
These are free according to their official sites: 2 places and 1 upcoming event in Irving, including Irving Arts Center, Mustangs of Las Colinas and Holidays at Heritage Parade, Tree Lighting & Drone Show (Sat, Dec 5).
Where can kids play indoors in Irving when it's too hot or rainy?
We list 4 indoor places in Irving: Irving Archives & Museum (with Spark!Lab, Adult $7, ages 4–17 $5), Irving Arts Center (Free gallery admission), South Irving Library and Valley Ranch Library.
What Thanksgiving events can I take my kids to in Irving?
We list 1 Thanksgiving event in Irving: Irving Turkey Trot (with Tot Trot, Thu, Nov 26). Our Thanksgiving weekend guide for the Dallas–Fort Worth area has more nearby.
When and where can kids see Santa in Irving?
We list 1 event with Santa in Irving: Holidays at Heritage Parade, Tree Lighting & Drone Show (Dec 5). Our Santa guide for the Dallas–Fort Worth area has more nearby.
Where can I take my kids to see Christmas lights in Irving?
We list 1 holiday light event in Irving: Holidays at Heritage Parade, Tree Lighting & Drone Show (Dec 5, free). Our holiday lights guide for the Dallas–Fort Worth area has more nearby.
Are there storytimes or regular kids' programs in Irving?
We list 2 everyday programs in Irving: Family Storytime at West Irving Library (Mondays) and Family Storytime at South Irving Library (Tuesdays).
What is there to do with toddlers in Irving?
We list 4 places in Irving that welcome kids under 2, including Cottonwood Creek Park, Lee Park and South Irving Library. See all 4 above. Age ranges for places are our own guidance.
How much do Irving family attractions cost?
Prices from the official sites for 1 place in Irving: Irving Archives & Museum (with Spark!Lab, Adult $7, ages 4–17 $5). Confirm before you go; prices change.
Our weekend search covers Phoenix Metro & Arizona for now, and more areas are coming soon. This guide is hand-checked the same way.
How we build this page: each event comes from the organizer's official website and shows the date we checked it. Prices marked verified were copied from the venue's official site; others show an estimated price level or "Not stated". A place is called free only when its official site says so. Read how we verify listings · Arizona weekend search.
See something that's off? Send us a correction.
Know a family event we're missing? Tell us about it.