Winter break activities for kids around Phoenix (Dec 2026 – Jan 2027)
Listings last checked · Covers Dec 19, 2026 – Jan 10, 2027 · Past events drop off automatically
Go to the main search page: all events & places near you →Every event and place we know of, matched to your kids' ages and this weekend's forecast.
Quick answer: We list 33 family events and programs for winter break (Dec 19 – Jan 10): 4 Noon Year parties, 9 holiday light displays, 9 Santa visits, 8 shows and other events, 3 day camps. 16 list free admission.
Day camps, holiday lights, Santa visits, shows and Noon Year parties for the school break, each checked on the organizer's own page. School break dates vary by district, so check yours.
- 4 Noon Year parties for kids on Thu, Dec 31 (all at libraries).
- 9 holiday light displays open over the break, and Santa visits through Dec 24.
- 16 of the 33 listings are free.
- 3 day camps for school-break weekdays (Dec 21–31), all with registration.
Bookmark this page — we update it whenever organizers change a date or time.
Noon Year parties for kids (Thu, Dec 31)
Noon Year’s Day Celebration — Red Mountain Library
- When
- Thu, Dec 31 · 11am–noon
- Cost
- Not stated. See the official page.
- Ages
- Ages Kids · Indoor
A party just for kids to ring in the “Noon Year”: come dressed in your best for crafts, dancing and treats (snacks may contain allergens).
✓ Checked Oct 23, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Noon Year’s Day Celebration — Dobson Ranch Library
- When
- Thu, Dec 31 · 11:15am–noon
- Cost
- Not stated. See the official page.
- Ages
- Ages Kids · Indoor
A kids’ party to ring in the “Noon Year”: decorate hats, make noisemakers and have treats (snacks may contain allergens).
✓ Checked Oct 22, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Noon Year’s Celebration — Mesa Main Library
- When
- Thu, Dec 31 · 11:15am–noon
- Cost
- Not stated. See the official page.
- Ages
- Ages Kids · Indoor
A party just for kids to ring in the “Noon Year”: dress in your sparkliest clothes for crafts and music. Presented with the Mesa Family Resource Center, which serves families with children from birth to age 5.
✓ Checked Oct 23, 2026 on the organizer's official page
“Noon” Year’s Eve Party — Surprise Regional Library
- When
- Thu, Dec 31 · 11:30am–12:30pm
- Cost
- Free
- Ages
- Ages 0-6 · Indoor
Festive crafts and a dance-party storytime, counting down to noon. Geared to ages 3–6, but younger and older kids are welcome; an adult must take part. No booking required.
✓ Checked Oct 23, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Holiday lights open over the break
Some displays end before Jan 1. See each listing for dates, hours and prices.
Christmas at the Princess
- When
- Sat, Dec 19 – Sat, Jan 2 (Nightly Nov 20 – Jan 2) · Mon–Thu 5–10pm · Fri–Sun 4–11pm; daily 4–11pm from Dec 18 (one official page says Dec 17)
- Cost
- General admission from $35 per person; 3 and under free. Parking is separate (self-park $35, valet $120 if bought ahead; more at the gate). Ice Pass $40 and Photos with Santa $65 cost extra.
- Ages
- All ages · Outdoor
17 million lights across the resort, an outdoor ice rink, a 120-foot Ferris wheel, rides (height limits 36–54 inches), Christmas characters (character dance at 5 and 9pm nightly) and Santa. Photos with Santa ($65, plus admission) include Elf Academy, Mrs. Claus carols and one digital photo; Santa is there through Christmas Eve only. Ticketed, often sells out, cashless and rain or shine.
✓ Checked Oct 23, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Glendale Glitters
- When
- Sat, Dec 19 – Fri, Jan 1 (Lights nightly through Jan 1) · Nightly 5–10pm; lighting ceremony Nov 27 at 5:45pm; kickoff Nov 27–28
- Cost
- Not stated. See the official page.
- Ages
- All ages · Outdoor
33rd year of holiday lights in Historic Downtown Glendale. The Nov 27–28 kickoff adds Santa, vendors, treats, carolers and live entertainment.
✓ Checked Oct 17, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Avondazzle Holiday Light Display
- When
- Sat, Dec 19 – Fri, Jan 1 (Nightly Dec 6 – Jan 1) · Nightly 5–10pm
- Cost
- Not stated. See the official page.
- Ages
- All ages · Outdoor
Holiday lights with a light show on the city Christmas tree every 30 minutes (5:30–9:30pm). Bring a blanket or chair.
✓ Checked Oct 17, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Las Noches de las Luminarias at Desert Botanical Garden
- When
- Sat, Dec 19 – Sun, Jan 3 (Select nights: Nov 27–29; Dec 4–6, 11–13, 16–23, 26–31; Jan 1–3) · 5–9:30pm
- Cost
- General adult $39.95–$44.95, child (2–17) $18.95; members less
- Ages
- All ages · Outdoor
Thousands of luminarias and light displays along the Garden trails, live music, and the Super Bloom light-art installation. Photos with Sonoran Santa and Mrs. Claus Nov 27–29 and Dec 18–23.
✓ Checked Oct 18, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Sparkling Surprise holiday lights
- When
- Sat, Dec 19 – Sun, Dec 27 (Nightly Dec 4–27) · Nightly 5:30–10pm
- Cost
- Free
- Ages
- All ages · Outdoor
Free walk-through light display with a 40-foot tree, giant candy canes, Santa’s sleigh and lights on the lake.
✓ Checked Oct 17, 2026 on the organizer's official page
ZooLights at the Phoenix Zoo
- When
- Sat, Dec 19 – Sun, Jan 10 (Nightly Nov 25 – Jan 15) · 5:30–10:30pm
- Cost
- General $35, members $30; children 2 and under free
- Ages
- All ages · Outdoor
Five million lights along two miles of Zoo trail, a lake light show, glow garden, light tunnel and photos with Santa (Nov 25 – Dec 23, separate fee). Sensory-friendly night Dec 8 (separate ticket). Most animals aren't visible at night.
✓ Checked Oct 18, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Holiday Lights at McCormick-Stillman Railroad Park
- When
- Sat, Dec 19 – Wed, Dec 30 (Nightly Nov 27 – Dec 30, except Dec 24 and 25) · 5:30–9:30pm
- Cost
- $15 per person (ages 3+); 2 and under free; includes train and carousel rides
- Ages
- All ages · Outdoor
The park is lit up for the season, and a ride on the Paradise & Pacific Railroad loops through the displays. Wristbands are required for entry and rides, and the park says the event sells out every year. Also: a s'mores fire pit (kits sold separately), the Model Railroad Building, and Santa meet-and-greets (dates still to be announced).
✓ Checked Oct 19, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Buckeye Holiday Lights & Candy Land Walkthrough
- When
- Sat, Dec 19 – Fri, Jan 1 (Nightly from sunset, Nov 28 – Jan 1) · From sunset · downtown tree music & light show every 30 min until 10pm
- Cost
- Not stated. See the official page.
- Ages
- All ages · Outdoor
A Candy Land-themed light walkthrough at Sundance Park (Gumdrop Pass, Peppermint Forest, Snowflake Lake) with photo props, plus downtown lights, photo stand-ins and a 33-foot tree with a 15-minute music and light show every half hour at 6th St. Plaza.
✓ Checked Oct 22, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Winter at the Waterfront
- When
- Sat, Dec 19 · 6–9pm
- Cost
- Free
- Ages
- All ages · Outdoor
Stroll the canal banks lit with holiday lights and decor, see the 36-foot Scottsdazzle tree, enjoy live music, hot cocoa and snacks, plus pop-up holiday boutiques on Stetson Plaza.
✓ Checked Oct 23, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Santa visits (through Christmas Eve)
Photos with Santa at Scottsdale Fashion Square
- When
- Sat, Dec 19 – Thu, Dec 24 (Daily Nov 6 – Dec 24, closed Thanksgiving) · Hours vary by week (see the mall's Santa schedule); closed Thanksgiving
- Cost
- Free to visit Santa; photo packages for purchase
- Ages
- All ages · Indoor
Santa's set is in Palm Court. Visiting Santa is free and walk-ups are welcome; booking a time online is recommended to skip the line, and photo packages are optional. Sensory Santa on Dec 6 (9–10:30am) and pet nights Nov 30, Dec 7 and Dec 14 (4–7pm).
✓ Checked Oct 21, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Photos with Santa at Kierland Commons
- When
- Sat, Dec 19 – Thu, Dec 24 (Daily Nov 20 – Dec 24, closed Thanksgiving) · Hours vary by week (see the mall's Santa schedule); closed Thanksgiving
- Cost
- Free to visit Santa; photo packages for purchase
- Ages
- All ages · Outdoor
Santa's set is at Center Plaza. Visiting Santa is free and walk-ups are welcome; booking a time online is recommended to skip the line, and photo packages are optional. Sensory Santa on Dec 6 (9–10am) and pet nights Nov 30, Dec 7 and Dec 14 (4–7pm).
✓ Checked Oct 21, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Photos with Santa at Arrowhead Towne Center
- When
- Sat, Dec 19 – Thu, Dec 24 (Daily Nov 6 – Dec 24, closed Thanksgiving) · Hours vary by week (see the mall's Santa schedule); closed Thanksgiving
- Cost
- Free to visit Santa; photo packages for purchase
- Ages
- All ages · Indoor
Santa's set is near JCPenney. Visiting Santa is free and walk-ups are welcome; booking a time online is recommended to skip the line, and photo packages are optional. Sensory-friendly morning on Sunday, Dec 6 (9–10:30am); pet nights are Mondays 4–7pm.
✓ Checked Oct 21, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Photos with Santa at Chandler Fashion Center
- When
- Sat, Dec 19 – Thu, Dec 24 (Daily Nov 13 – Dec 24, closed Thanksgiving) · Hours vary by week (see the mall's Santa schedule); closed Thanksgiving
- Cost
- Free to visit Santa; photo packages for purchase
- Ages
- All ages · Indoor
Santa's set is near Macy's. Visiting Santa is free and walk-ups are welcome; booking a time online is recommended to skip the line, and photo packages are optional. Sensory-friendly morning on Dec 6; pet nights are Mondays 4–7pm, Nov 16 – Dec 14.
✓ Checked Oct 21, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Photos with Santa at SanTan Village
- When
- Sat, Dec 19 – Thu, Dec 24 (Daily Nov 13 – Dec 24, closed Thanksgiving) · Hours vary by week (see the mall's Santa schedule); closed Thanksgiving
- Cost
- Free to visit Santa; photo packages for purchase
- Ages
- All ages · Indoor + outdoor
Santa's set is in the Children's Play Area near Build-A-Bear. Visiting Santa is free and walk-ups are welcome; booking a time online is recommended to skip the line, and photo packages are optional. Cowboy Santa nights (5–7pm) on Nov 17, Nov 24, Dec 1 and Dec 8; pet nights Mondays 4–7pm.
✓ Checked Oct 21, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Photos with Santa at Superstition Springs Center
- When
- Sat, Dec 19 – Thu, Dec 24 (Daily Nov 13 – Dec 24, closed Thanksgiving) · Hours vary by week (see the mall's Santa schedule); closed Thanksgiving
- Cost
- Free to visit Santa; photo packages for purchase
- Ages
- All ages · Indoor
Santa's set is in Center Court near JCPenney. Visiting Santa is free and walk-ups are welcome; booking a time online is recommended to skip the line, and photo packages are optional. Pet nights are Mondays, Nov 16 – Dec 14.
✓ Checked Oct 21, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Santa's House in Downtown Chandler
- When
- Sat, Dec 19 (Dec 5, 12, 15 & 19 only) · Dec 5 4:30–9pm · Dec 12 & 19 9am–1pm · Dec 15 6–8pm
- Cost
- Free
- Ages
- All ages · Outdoor
The City of Chandler sets up Santa's House in the downtown park for a free family photo on four dates; Dec 5 lines up with the Parade of Lights and Tumbleweed Tree lighting.
✓ Checked Oct 21, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Meet Santa at the Old Town Scottsdale Farmers Market
- When
- Sat, Dec 19 · Photos with Santa 9am–noon (market 8am–1pm)
- Cost
- Free
- Ages
- All ages · Outdoor
Santa joins the Saturday farmers market: kids of all ages (and pets) can sit with Santa and get a printed photo. Part of Scottsdazzle.
✓ Checked Oct 23, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Santa Photos at Sundance Park — Buckeye
- When
- Sat, Dec 19 (Saturdays Dec 5 and Dec 19) · 5:30–8:30pm
- Cost
- Not stated. See the official page.
- Ages
- All ages · Outdoor
Santa visits Sundance Park for family photos during the Candy Land holiday light walkthrough.
✓ Checked Oct 22, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Shows and other events
The Night Before Christmas — Great Arizona Puppet Theater
- When
- Sat, Dec 19 – Sun, Dec 27 (Thu & Fri 10am, Sat 10am & 2pm, Sun 2pm, Dec 3–27; closed Dec 24 and 25) · Thu & Fri 10am · Sat 10am & 2pm · Sun 2pm
- Cost
- $10 per child (age 2+), $15 per adult; under 2 free with a child ticket
- Ages
- All ages (recommended for ages 3 and up) · Indoor
A holiday celebration with several stories, lots of music and an array of puppets. Tickets must be bought in advance (online or by phone).
✓ Checked Oct 23, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Holiday Harmony
- When
- Sat, Dec 19 · 10am–noon
- Cost
- Free
- Ages
- All ages (family) · Outdoor
Holiday traditions from around the world with music, crafts and hands-on activities, plus school choirs performing holiday songs.
✓ Checked Oct 23, 2026 on the organizer's official page
The Jingle Belles: An Old Town Holiday Showcase
- When
- Sat, Dec 19 · 1–3pm
- Cost
- Free
- Ages
- All ages · Outdoor
A dancing trio performs holiday songs all afternoon; stop by and sing along.
✓ Checked Oct 23, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Holiday Dueling Pianos on the Bridge
- When
- Sat, Dec 19 · 1–4pm
- Cost
- Free
- Ages
- All ages · Outdoor
Two pianists play holiday music and all-request songs with sing-alongs on the decorated Marshall Way Bridge.
✓ Checked Oct 23, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Live Nativity and Choir Concert
- When
- Sat, Dec 19 · 5–8pm
- Cost
- Free
- Ages
- All ages · Outdoor
A Christmas choir concert and an outdoor live nativity with performers and animals.
✓ Checked Oct 23, 2026 on the organizer's official page
The Rinq free ice skating at Goodyear Civic Square
- When
- Sat, Dec 19 – Sun, Jan 3 (Dec 4–6, 11–13 and 18–20 confirmed, then Sat–Sun Jan 2–3; the city lists Fridays–Sundays in December (excluding holidays), so check the page for Dec 25–27) · 5–9pm (30-minute sessions at 5, 6, 7 and 8pm)
- Cost
- Free (skates provided, sizes toddler 7 to adult 15; bring socks)
- Ages
- All ages · Outdoor
The city's synthetic ice rink: drop in, sign the waiver and skate for a 30-minute session. First come, first served, no registration. The city lists it Fridays to Sundays in December (excluding holidays) plus Jan 2–3.
✓ Checked Oct 23, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Queen Creek Family Market
- When
- Sat, Dec 19 · 9am–2pm
- Cost
- Not stated. See the official page.
- Ages
- All ages · Outdoor
Outdoor market at Schnepf Farms with local vendors, food trucks and bakers, plus face painting and activities for kids. Pets welcome.
✓ Checked Oct 23, 2026 on the organizer's official page
The Princess, the Unicorn, and the Smelly-Foot Troll — Great Arizona Puppet Theater
- When
- Thu, Dec 31 – Sun, Jan 10 (Thu & Fri 10am, Sat 10am & 2pm, Sun 2pm, Dec 31 – Jan 31) · Thu & Fri 10am · Sat 10am & 2pm · Sun 2pm
- Cost
- $10 per child (age 2+), $15 per adult; under 2 free with a child ticket
- Ages
- All ages (recommended for ages 3 and up) · Indoor
The theater's most popular original show: it's Princess Harriet's birthday and everyone is invited except the Smelly Foot Troll. Plenty of singing, sparkles and silliness. Tickets can be bought in advance.
✓ Checked Oct 23, 2026 on the organizer's official page
School-break day camps
Weekday camps with registration and a fee. Check the official page for openings.
Winter Break Camp (Week 1) — Webster Recreation Center, Mesa
- When
- Mon, Dec 21 – Wed, Dec 23 (Mon–Wed, Dec 21–23) · 8am–5:30pm
- Cost
- $85 for the 3-day week (includes a non-refundable admin fee)
- Ages
- Ages 5-13 · Indoor + outdoor
Full-day camp with active games, crafts, board games, special events and movies. Bring a water bottle, two snacks and lunch each day; closed-toe shoes required. Register through the City of Mesa.
✓ Checked Oct 23, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Camp Innovation Winter Break Camp — Arizona Science Center
- When
- Mon, Dec 21 – Wed, Dec 30 (Mon–Wed, Dec 21–23 (Medieval Science) and Dec 28–30 (Arctic Adventures)) · 9am–4pm (drop-off 8:15–9am, pick-up 3:45–4:30pm)
- Cost
- $70 per day ($65 members); $210 for a 3-day week ($195 members); $400 for both weeks ($370 members)
- Ages
- Ages Grades 1 to 6 · Indoor
Full-day school-break science camp for grades 1–6: Medieval Science (Dec 21–23) and Arctic Adventures (Dec 28–30). Register by grade group (1–2, 3–4, 5–6) on the Science Center's camp page.
✓ Checked Oct 23, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Winter Break Camp (Week 2) — Webster Recreation Center, Mesa
- When
- Mon, Dec 28 – Thu, Dec 31 (Mon–Thu, Dec 28–31) · 8am–5:30pm
- Cost
- $114 for the 4-day week (includes a non-refundable admin fee)
- Ages
- Ages 5-13 · Indoor + outdoor
Full-day camp with active games, crafts, board games, special events and movies. Bring a water bottle, two snacks and lunch each day; closed-toe shoes required. Register through the City of Mesa.
✓ Checked Oct 23, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Frequently asked questions
What can kids do over winter break near Phoenix in 2026?
We list 33 events and programs for winter break (Dec 19 – Jan 10), 16 free, including Noon Year’s Day Celebration — Red Mountain Library (Mesa, Thu, Dec 31) and Noon Year’s Day Celebration — Dobson Ranch Library (Mesa, Thu, Dec 31). See all 33 above.
Where can kids celebrate Noon Year's Eve near Phoenix in 2026?
We list 4 Noon Year parties on Thu, Dec 31: Red Mountain Library (Mesa, 11am–noon), Dobson Ranch Library (Mesa, 11:15am–noon), Mesa Main Library (Mesa, 11:15am–noon) and Surprise Regional Library (Surprise, 11:30am–12:30pm, free). All are daytime parties.
Which holiday lights are open over winter break near Phoenix?
9 light displays on our list are open during the break: Christmas at the Princess (Scottsdale, through Jan 2), Glendale Glitters (Glendale, through Jan 1) and Avondazzle Holiday Light Display (Avondale, through Jan 1). See all 9 above. Some end before Jan 1, so check dates.
Where can kids see Santa before Christmas Eve near Phoenix?
We list 9 Santa visits from Dec 19 on: Scottsdale Fashion Square (Scottsdale), Kierland Commons (Scottsdale), Arrowhead Towne Center (Glendale), Chandler Fashion Center (Chandler) and SanTan Village (Gilbert). See all 9 above. Mall visits are free; photo packages are optional.
Are there winter break day camps near Phoenix?
We list 3 winter break camps, all with registration: Webster Recreation Center camp (Mesa, Dec 21–23, $85 for the 3-day week) and Arizona Science Center camp (Phoenix, Dec 21–23 & Dec 28–30, $70 per day). See all 3 above. Prices and sign-up are on each official page.
What is free over winter break near Phoenix?
16 listings on our list are free, including “Noon” Year’s Eve Party — Surprise Regional Library (Surprise, Thu, Dec 31), Sparkling Surprise holiday lights (Surprise, through Dec 27) and Winter at the Waterfront (Scottsdale, Sat, Dec 19). See all 16 above.
What winter break activities near Phoenix are indoors?
11 listings on our list are indoors, including Noon Year’s Day Celebration — Red Mountain Library (Mesa, Thu, Dec 31), Noon Year’s Day Celebration — Dobson Ranch Library (Mesa, Thu, Dec 31) and Noon Year’s Celebration — Mesa Main Library (Mesa, Thu, Dec 31). See all 11 above.
Which winter break events need registration or tickets?
8 listings on our list say on the official page that they need registration, wristbands or advance tickets: Christmas at the Princess (Scottsdale) and Holiday Lights at McCormick-Stillman Railroad Park (Scottsdale). See all 8 above. Book early; popular nights and camps fill up.
Go to the main search page: all events & places near you →Every event and place we know of, matched to your kids' ages and this weekend's forecast.
How we build this page: each event comes from the organizer's official website or calendar and shows the date we checked it. Prices marked verified were copied from the venue's official site. Price levels without a source are our estimates. Read how we verify listings.