Things to do with kids in Memphis, TN
Checked · All times are local Central Time (Memphis time)
Coming up in Memphis: Memphis Turkey Trot (Nov 26), Memphis Zoo Lantern Festival (from Nov 13), Starry Nights at Shelby Farms Park (World of Illumination, from Nov 20) and 5 more events. 6 always-open places, led by Memphis Zoo and Museum of Science & History – Pink Palace. Prices and hours come from each official site.
Thanksgiving events in Memphis
Memphis Turkey Trot
- When
- Thu, Nov 26 · 9–11am
- Cost
- 4-mile $50.14; 2-mile relay $39.44 per person (incl. fees)
- Ages
- All ages · Outdoor
Thanksgiving-morning 4-mile run/walk and 2-mile relay at Shelby Farms Park, open to participants of all ages.
✓ Checked Oct 26, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Christmas & holiday events: Santa and lights
Memphis Zoo Lantern Festival
- When
- Fri, Nov 13 – Sun, Jan 3 (Select nights Nov 13–Jan 3 (and weekends into February)) · 5–9:30pm (last entry 8:30pm)
- Cost
- $25 per person ($23 members); ages 2 and up need a ticket; under 2 free; parking included
- Ages
- All ages · Outdoor
More than 60 illuminated lantern displays, walk-through tunnels, snow at the front of the zoo and a new interactive Christmas maze. Tickets are sold online only for a set date; Dec 9 is a sensory night. It continues on select weekends through Feb 14.
✓ Checked Oct 26, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Starry Nights at Shelby Farms Park (World of Illumination)
- When
- Fri, Nov 20 – Sun, Jan 3 (Select nights Nov 20–Jan 3) · Evenings, about 6–10pm (select nights)
- Cost
- From $39.99 per vehicle
- Ages
- All ages · Outdoor
A drive-through holiday light show at Shelby Farms Park, set to music. Tickets are sold per vehicle; see the site for available nights and times.
✓ Checked Oct 26, 2026 on the organizer's official page
The Enchanted Forest Festival of Trees
- When
- Sat, Nov 21 – Sun, Dec 27 (Tue–Sun Nov 21 – Dec 27 (closed Mondays, Thanksgiving Day and Christmas Day)) · 10:30am–5pm (box office closes 4:30pm); Christmas Eve until 3pm
- Cost
- Adults $7, seniors $6, children 3–12 $6
- Ages
- All ages · Indoor
A Memphis tradition benefiting Le Bonheur Children's Hospital: a Festival of Trees, then a walk-through snowy forest of animated bears, elves, penguins and singing reindeer, model trains and a gingerbread village, ending with Santa for photos. Weekend time slots can sell out, so buy online ahead.
✓ Checked Oct 28, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Holiday Wonders at the Garden
- When
- Fri, Nov 27 – Wed, Dec 30 (Nov 27–28; Dec 4–6, 10–23 and 26–30) · 5–8:30pm (last entry 7:30pm); Dec 18–23 until 9:30pm
- Cost
- Ticketed; tickets on sale Nov 6 (prices on site)
- Ages
- All ages · Outdoor
Glowing trails through the garden, including Polar Passage in The Woodland and a new section in the Herb Garden, with fire tables, interactive play spots and food trucks nightly. Opening night (Nov 27) has Santa; later themed nights include Santa Sundays.
✓ Checked Oct 28, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Memphis Holiday Parade on Beale Street
- When
- Sat, Dec 12 · 11am
- Cost
- Not stated
- Ages
- All ages · Outdoor
Marching bands, steppers, twirlers and festive floats on Beale Street. Pick a viewing spot along the street.
✓ Checked Oct 26, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Storytimes
Toddler Storytime (18 months–3) at Central Library
- When
- Wed, Oct 28 – Wed, Dec 30 (Wednesdays (not Nov 11)) · 10:15–11am
- Cost
- No fee listed
- Ages
- Ages 1-3 · Indoor
Wednesday-morning stories, songs and movement for toddlers and their grown-ups.
✓ Checked Oct 26, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Preschool Storytime (ages 3–5) at Central Library
- When
- Mon, Nov 2 – Mon, Dec 28 (Mondays) · 10:15–11am
- Cost
- No fee listed
- Ages
- Ages 3-5 · Indoor
Monday-morning storytime with 2–3 read-alouds and movement activities that build early literacy skills.
✓ Checked Oct 26, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Always-open family places
Most popular first: zoos, aquariums and museums, then nature spots, parks and libraries. Prices come from each official site; "Not stated" means the site doesn't list one.
Memphis Zoo
- Price
- Not stated. See the official site.
- Best for
- Ages 0–17+ (our guidance)
Zoo in Overton Park; on Lantern Festival nights daytime admission ends at 3pm and the zoo closes at 4pm
Museum of Science & History – Pink Palace
- Price
- Not stated. See the official site.
- Best for
- Ages 0–17+ (our guidance)
Memphis’s science and history museum in the Pink Palace mansion, with a planetarium
Shelby Farms Park
- Price
- $ (estimated price level)
- Best for
- Ages 0–17+ (our guidance)
Large county park with lakes and trails; public hours follow daylight and are posted daily on the park site. Woodland Discovery Playground is closed Oct 26 through January for Starry Nights setup
Children’s Museum of Memphis
- Price
- General admission $20 (ages 1–100); younger than 1 free; carousel and splash pad cost extra
- Best for
- Ages 0–10 (our guidance)
Hands-on museum plus an outdoor Playspace; Tue–Sun 9am–5pm, closed Mondays; closed Thanksgiving, Dec 24 and Dec 25
✓ Price verified Oct 26, 2026 · source
Dixon Gallery & Gardens
- Price
- Not stated. See the official site.
- Best for
- Ages 0–17+ (our guidance)
Art museum and gardens with youth and family programs; Tue–Fri and Sat 10am–5pm, Sun 1–5pm, closed Mondays
Benjamin L. Hooks Central Library
- Price
- $ (estimated price level)
- Best for
- Ages 0–17+ (our guidance)
Memphis Public Libraries’ central library with storytimes for babies, toddlers and preschoolers most weekday mornings
Frequently asked questions
What is there to do with kids in Memphis this weekend?
Memphis Zoo, Museum of Science & History – Pink Palace and Shelby Farms Park are open most days, but we don't have a Memphis event listed for this weekend (Oct 30–Nov 1). Next up: Memphis Turkey Trot (Nov 26) and Memphis Zoo Lantern Festival (Nov 13).
What time is trick-or-treating in Memphis?
Sunset on Halloween in Memphis is at 6:06 p.m. Memphis doesn't list official trick-or-treat hours, so plan around dusk.
Where can kids play indoors in Memphis when it's too cold or rainy?
We list 3 indoor places in Memphis: Museum of Science & History – Pink Palace, Children’s Museum of Memphis (kids 1 and up $20) and Benjamin L. Hooks Central Library.
What Thanksgiving events can I take my kids to in Memphis?
We list 1 Thanksgiving event in Memphis: Memphis Turkey Trot (Thu, Nov 26). Our Thanksgiving weekend guide for the Memphis area has more nearby.
When and where can kids see Santa in Memphis?
We list 1 event with Santa in Memphis: The Enchanted Forest Festival of Trees (Nov 21 – Dec 27).
Where can I take my kids to see Christmas lights in Memphis?
We list 3 holiday light events in Memphis: Memphis Zoo Lantern Festival (Nov 13 – Jan 3), Starry Nights at Shelby Farms Park (World of Illumination, Nov 20 – Jan 3) and Holiday Wonders at the Garden (Nov 27 – Dec 30). Our holiday lights guide for the Memphis area has more nearby.
Are there storytimes or regular kids' programs in Memphis?
We list 2 everyday programs in Memphis: Toddler Storytime (18 months–3) at Central Library (Wednesdays, not Nov 11) and Preschool Storytime (ages 3–5) at Central Library (Mondays).
What is there to do with toddlers in Memphis?
We list 4 places in Memphis that welcome kids under 2, including Memphis Zoo, Shelby Farms Park and Children’s Museum of Memphis. See all 4 above. Age ranges for places are our own guidance.
What are the big family attractions in Memphis?
The best-known family attractions we list in Memphis are Memphis Zoo and Museum of Science & History – Pink Palace. They're listed first under always-open places.
How much do Memphis family attractions cost?
Prices from the official sites for 1 place in Memphis: Children’s Museum of Memphis (adult $20, kids 1 and up $20). Confirm before you go; prices change.
Our weekend search covers Phoenix Metro & Arizona for now, and more areas are coming soon. This guide is hand-checked the same way.
How we build this page: each event comes from the organizer's official website and shows the date we checked it. Prices marked verified were copied from the venue's official site; others show an estimated price level or "Not stated". A place is called free only when its official site says so. Read how we verify listings · Arizona weekend search.
See something that's off? Send us a correction.
Know a family event we're missing? Tell us about it.