Things to do with kids in Asheville, NC
Checked · All times are local Eastern Time (Asheville time)
Coming up in Asheville: Asheville Turkey Trot & Gobble Wobble 1-Mile Fun Run (Nov 26), Winter Lights at The North Carolina Arboretum (from Nov 13), Asheville Holiday Parade (Nov 21) and 2 more events. 6 always-open places, led by WNC Nature Center and Asheville Museum of Science. Prices and hours come from each official site.
Thanksgiving events in Asheville
Asheville Turkey Trot & Gobble Wobble 1-Mile Fun Run
- When
- Thu, Nov 26 · Fun run 8:30am; 5K 9:15am
- Cost
- Gobble Wobble $25 + $2.50 fee; 5K $45 + $3.70 fee
- Ages
- All ages · Outdoor
Downtown Asheville’s Thanksgiving run: the Gobble Wobble 1-mile fun run at 8:30am and the 5K at 9:15am, starting on Woodfin St and finishing at Pack Square Park. No dogs or pets.
✓ Checked Oct 26, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Christmas & holiday events: lights
Winter Lights at The North Carolina Arboretum
- When
- Fri, Nov 13 – Sun, Jan 3 (Select nights Nov 13–Jan 3) · Evenings (see site)
- Cost
- Timed tickets (see site); peak dates sell out
- Ages
- All ages · Outdoor
A walk-through holiday light show with over one million lights. A Winter Lights trolley option is offered too.
✓ Checked Oct 26, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Asheville Holiday Parade
- When
- Sat, Nov 21 · 11am–2pm
- Cost
- Not stated
- Ages
- All ages · Outdoor
The 80th annual parade, themed “A Vintage Holiday,” with marching bands, colorful floats and community groups through Downtown Asheville. Route details are posted by the Asheville Downtown Association.
✓ Checked Oct 26, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Storytimes
Baby Story Time at Pack Memorial Library
- When
- Mon, Nov 2 – Mon, Dec 28 (Mondays) · 10:30–11am
- Cost
- No fee listed
- Ages
- Ages 4–18 months · Indoor
A lively language-enrichment story time for babies 4 to 18 months and their grown-ups.
✓ Checked Oct 26, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Toddler Story Time at Pack Memorial Library
- When
- Tue, Nov 3 – Tue, Dec 29 (Tuesdays) · 10:30–11am
- Cost
- No fee listed
- Ages
- Ages 18 months–3 · Indoor
Interactive stories for children 18 months to 3 with their grown-ups. Room holds 40, so arrive early; no drop-offs.
✓ Checked Oct 26, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Always-open family places
Most popular first: zoos, aquariums and museums, then nature spots, parks and libraries. Prices come from each official site; "Not stated" means the site doesn't list one.
WNC Nature Center
- Price
- Adults $16.95, youth 13–15 $16.95, children 3–12 $12.95 (plus tax); 2 and under free; City of Asheville residents pay less
- Best for
- Ages 0–17+ (our guidance)
Animal park; open daily 10am–4:30pm (last admission 3:30), closed Thanksgiving, Dec 24, Dec 25 and New Year’s Day; cashless ticket office; follow the posted detour while the Gashes Creek bridge is rebuilt
✓ Price verified Oct 26, 2026 · source
Asheville Museum of Science
- Price
- General admission $11.50 per person; see site for ages 2 and under
- Best for
- Ages 3–14 (our guidance)
Downtown science museum with hands-on exhibits; closed Tuesdays; parking in the nearby Rankin Ave and Cox Ave garages
✓ Price verified Oct 26, 2026 · source
The North Carolina Arboretum
- Price
- Parking fee $25 per vehicle
- Best for
- Ages 0–17+ (our guidance)
Gardens and trails near the Blue Ridge Parkway; home of the Winter Lights holiday show
✓ Price verified Oct 26, 2026 · source
The Botanical Gardens at Asheville
- Price
- $ (estimated price level)
- Best for
- Ages 0–17+ (our guidance)
Public gardens; gardens open sunrise to sunset daily, visitor center 10am–4pm
Biltmore
- Price
- Not stated. See the official site.
- Best for
- Ages 0–17+ (our guidance)
Historic estate with a house and gardens; check the site for tickets and hours
Pack Memorial Library
- Price
- $ (estimated price level)
- Best for
- Ages 0–17+ (our guidance)
Buncombe County’s downtown central library with a separate children’s floor; Mon–Wed 9am–7pm, Thu–Fri 9am–5pm, closed weekends
Frequently asked questions
What is there to do with kids in Asheville this weekend?
WNC Nature Center, Asheville Museum of Science and The North Carolina Arboretum are open most days, but we don't have an Asheville event listed for this weekend (Oct 30–Nov 1). Next up: Asheville Turkey Trot & Gobble Wobble 1-Mile Fun Run (Nov 26) and Winter Lights at The North Carolina Arboretum (Nov 13).
What time is trick-or-treating in Asheville?
Sunset on Halloween in Asheville is at 6:35 p.m. Asheville doesn't list official trick-or-treat hours, so plan around dusk.
Where can kids play indoors in Asheville when it's too hot or rainy?
We list 2 indoor places in Asheville: Asheville Museum of Science (General admission $11.50 per person) and Pack Memorial Library.
What Thanksgiving events can I take my kids to in Asheville?
We list 1 Thanksgiving event in Asheville: Asheville Turkey Trot & Gobble Wobble 1-Mile Fun Run (Thu, Nov 26).
Where can I take my kids to see Christmas lights in Asheville?
We list 1 holiday light event in Asheville: Winter Lights at The North Carolina Arboretum (Nov 13 – Jan 3).
Are there storytimes or regular kids' programs in Asheville?
We list 2 everyday programs in Asheville: Baby Story Time at Pack Memorial Library (Mondays) and Toddler Story Time at Pack Memorial Library (Tuesdays).
What is there to do with toddlers in Asheville?
We list 4 places in Asheville that welcome kids under 2, including WNC Nature Center, The North Carolina Arboretum and The Botanical Gardens at Asheville. See all 4 above. Age ranges for places are our own guidance.
What are the big family attractions in Asheville?
The best-known family attractions we list in Asheville are WNC Nature Center (kids 3–12 $12.95) and Asheville Museum of Science (General admission $11.50 per person). They're listed first under always-open places.
How much do Asheville family attractions cost?
Prices from the official sites for 3 places in Asheville: WNC Nature Center (adult $16.95, kids 3–12 $12.95), Asheville Museum of Science (General admission $11.50 per person) and The North Carolina Arboretum (Parking fee $25 per vehicle). Confirm before you go; prices change.
Our weekend search covers Phoenix Metro & Arizona for now, and more areas are coming soon. This guide is hand-checked the same way.
How we build this page: each event comes from the organizer's official website and shows the date we checked it. Prices marked verified were copied from the venue's official site; others show an estimated price level or "Not stated". A place is called free only when its official site says so. Read how we verify listings · Arizona weekend search.
See something that's off? Send us a correction.
Know a family event we're missing? Tell us about it.