Things to do with kids in Orlando, FL
Checked · All times are local Eastern Time (Orlando time)
Coming up in Orlando: Seniors First Turkey Trot & Tot Trot at Lake Eola (Nov 26), Christmas Celebration at SeaWorld Orlando (from Nov 6), Mickey’s Very Merry Christmas Party at Magic Kingdom (from Nov 8) and 8 more events. 10 always-open places, led by Magic Kingdom Park (Walt Disney World), Universal Orlando Resort and SeaWorld Orlando. Prices and hours come from each official site.
Thanksgiving events in Orlando
Seniors First Turkey Trot & Tot Trot at Lake Eola
- When
- Thu, Nov 26 · 5K 8am; Tot Trot 9:15am
- Cost
- 5K $45 through Nov 21, $50 race week (17 and under $10 off); kids’ Tot Trot runs are free
- Ages
- All ages · Outdoor
Thanksgiving-morning 5K around downtown Orlando at 8am, followed by the Tot Trot at 9:15am — free kids’ runs of 100 to 400 yards, with a ribbon for every finisher.
✓ Checked Oct 26, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Christmas & holiday events: Santa, lights and tree lightings
Christmas Celebration at SeaWorld Orlando
- When
- Fri, Nov 6 – Mon, Jan 4 (Select dates Nov 6–Jan 4) · Select dates; check the park calendar
- Cost
- Included with park admission
- Ages
- All ages · Outdoor
A winter wonderland for all ages with dazzling light displays, Christmas shows, holiday treats and festive fireworks on select dates.
✓ Checked Oct 26, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Mickey’s Very Merry Christmas Party at Magic Kingdom
- When
- Sun, Nov 8 – Tue, Dec 22 (25 select nights Nov 8–Dec 22) · 7pm–midnight
- Cost
- Separate ticket: $189–$229 plus tax depending on night; $10 off for ages 3–9
- Ages
- All ages · Outdoor
A separate-ticket evening party at Magic Kingdom on select November and December nights with holiday parades, fireworks and character visits.
✓ Checked Oct 26, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Holidays at Universal Orlando (Grinchmas and the Holiday Parade featuring Macy’s)
- When
- Sat, Nov 14 – Sun, Jan 3 (Daily Nov 14–Jan 3)
- Cost
- Included with regular theme park admission
- Ages
- All ages · Outdoor
Grinchmas returns to Islands of Adventure, and Universal Studios Florida hosts the nightly Universal’s Holiday Parade featuring Macy’s, ending with a tree lighting by Santa.
✓ Checked Oct 26, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Holidays at Leu Gardens (daytime)
- When
- Fri, Nov 20 – Sun, Jan 3 (Daily Nov 20–Jan 3) · 9am–4pm
- Cost
- Included with garden admission (adults $15, children 4–17 $10, under 4 free)
- Ages
- All ages · Outdoor
Daytime holiday season in the gardens with holiday blooms and a Yeti Hunt for kids.
✓ Checked Oct 26, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Dazzling Nights at Leu Gardens
- When
- Fri, Nov 20 – Sun, Jan 3 (Nightly Nov 20–Jan 3) · 5:30–11pm
- Cost
- Separate ticket: adults $35–$56, children $33–$53 depending on date
- Ages
- All ages · Outdoor
An evening walk-through light show in the gardens.
✓ Checked Oct 26, 2026 on the organizer's official page
City of Orlando Tree Lighting Celebration at Lake Eola
- When
- Fri, Dec 4 · 5:30–9:30pm
- Cost
- Free
- Ages
- All ages · Outdoor
The city’s holiday kickoff at Lake Eola Park with holiday performances, food trucks, the Merry Market, snowfall and visits with Santa.
✓ Checked Oct 26, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Holiday Ho, Ho, Ho-Down at Gatorland
- When
- Sat, Dec 5 – Sun, Dec 20 (Dec 5–6, 12–13 and 19–20) · During park hours (10am–5pm)
- Cost
- Included with park admission
- Ages
- All ages · Outdoor
Three December weekends of holiday cheer at Gatorland, with arts and crafts vendors offering one-of-a-kind holiday gifts.
✓ Checked Oct 26, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Storytimes
Saturday Storytimes at Orlando Public Library (Preschool, Toddler, Baby)
- When
- Sat, Oct 31 – Sat, Dec 26 (Saturdays) · Preschool 10:30am, Toddler 11am, Baby 11:30am
- Cost
- No fee listed
- Ages
- Ages 0-5 · Indoor
Back-to-back Saturday storytimes: Preschool Storytime at 10:30, Toddler Storytime at 11:00 and Baby Storytime at 11:30, with stories, songs and rhymes.
✓ Checked Oct 26, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Baby Storytime (Mondays) at Orlando Public Library
- When
- Mon, Nov 2 – Mon, Dec 28 (Mondays) · 10:30–11am
- Cost
- No fee listed
- Ages
- Ages 0-1 · Indoor
Build baby’s first literacy skills with songs, rhymes and stories. For babies 0–18 months with a caregiver.
✓ Checked Oct 26, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Toddler Storytime (Tuesdays) at Orlando Public Library
- When
- Tue, Nov 3 – Tue, Dec 29 (Tuesdays (themes vary; no session Dec 22)) · 10:30–11am
- Cost
- No fee listed
- Ages
- Ages 1-3 · Indoor
Weekly toddler storytime with a different theme each week — books, songs and movement for toddlers and their caregivers.
✓ Checked Oct 26, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Always-open family places
Most popular first: zoos, aquariums and museums, then nature spots, parks and libraries. Prices come from each official site; "Not stated" means the site doesn't list one.
Magic Kingdom Park (Walt Disney World)
- Price
- Date-based ticket prices (see site)
- Best for
- Ages 0–17+ (our guidance)
Walt Disney World’s classic castle park; hours vary by date
✓ Price verified Oct 26, 2026 · source
Universal Orlando Resort
- Price
- Date-based ticket prices (see site)
- Best for
- Ages 0–17+ (our guidance)
Universal Studios Florida and Islands of Adventure theme parks; hours vary by date
✓ Price verified Oct 26, 2026 · source
SeaWorld Orlando
- Price
- Date-based ticket prices (see site)
- Best for
- Ages 0–17+ (our guidance)
Marine-life theme park with animal habitats, shows and rides; hours vary by date
✓ Price verified Oct 26, 2026 · source
Gatorland
- Price
- Adults (13+) $34.99, children (3–12) $24.99; save $3 online; free parking
- Best for
- Ages 0–17+ (our guidance)
Alligator park with wildlife shows; open daily 10am–5pm
✓ Price verified Oct 26, 2026 · source
SEA LIFE Orlando Aquarium
- Price
- Tickets from $29.99 online in advance
- Best for
- Ages 0–17+ (our guidance)
Aquarium on International Drive; hours vary by day (see site)
✓ Price verified Oct 26, 2026 · source
Orlando Science Center
- Price
- Online: youth (2–12) $22, teens (13–17) $27, adults $29 ($3 more on site)
- Best for
- Ages 0–17+ (our guidance)
Hands-on science center next to Loch Haven Park; open 10am–5pm, closed Wednesdays
✓ Price verified Oct 26, 2026 · source
Harry P. Leu Gardens
- Price
- Adults $15, children (4–17) $10; under 4 free
- Best for
- Ages 0–17+ (our guidance)
Botanical gardens near downtown Orlando; open 9am–5pm
✓ Price verified Oct 26, 2026 · source
Orlando Museum of Art
- Price
- Adults $20, children (6–17) $8, 5 and under free; family bundle (2 adults + up to 3 kids) $45
- Best for
- Ages 0–17+ (our guidance)
Art museum; Tue–Fri 10am–4pm, Sat–Sun noon–4pm
✓ Price verified Oct 26, 2026 · source
Lake Eola Park
- Price
- $ (estimated price level)
- Best for
- Ages 0–17+ (our guidance)
Downtown lake park with a playground and swan-boat rentals; open 6am–midnight
Orlando Public Library
- Price
- $ (estimated price level)
- Best for
- Ages 0–17+ (our guidance)
Downtown library with weekly storytimes; Mon–Thu 10am–7pm, Fri–Sat 10am–6pm, Sun 1–6pm
Frequently asked questions
What is there to do with kids in Orlando this weekend?
This weekend (Oct 30–Nov 1) we list 1 family event in Orlando: Saturday Storytimes at Orlando Public Library (Preschool, Toddler, Baby, Sat).
What time is trick-or-treating in Orlando?
Sunset on Halloween in Orlando is at 6:41 p.m. Orlando doesn't list official trick-or-treat hours, so plan around dusk.
What are free things to do with kids in Orlando?
These are free according to their official sites: 1 upcoming event in Orlando, including City of Orlando Tree Lighting Celebration at Lake Eola (Fri, Dec 4).
Where can kids play indoors in Orlando when it's too hot or rainy?
We list 4 indoor places in Orlando: SEA LIFE Orlando Aquarium (Tickets from $29.99 online in advance), Orlando Science Center (kids 2–12 $22), Orlando Museum of Art (kids 6–17 $8) and Orlando Public Library.
What Thanksgiving events can I take my kids to in Orlando?
We list 1 Thanksgiving event in Orlando: Seniors First Turkey Trot & Tot Trot at Lake Eola (Thu, Nov 26). Our Thanksgiving weekend guide for the Orlando area has more nearby.
When and where can kids see Santa in Orlando?
We list 1 event with Santa in Orlando: City of Orlando Tree Lighting Celebration at Lake Eola (Dec 4).
Where can I take my kids to see Christmas lights in Orlando?
We list 3 holiday light events in Orlando, 1 free: Christmas Celebration at SeaWorld Orlando (Nov 6 – Jan 4), Dazzling Nights at Leu Gardens (Nov 20 – Jan 3) and City of Orlando Tree Lighting Celebration at Lake Eola (Dec 4, free). Our holiday lights guide for the Orlando area has more nearby.
Are there storytimes or regular kids' programs in Orlando?
We list 3 everyday programs in Orlando: Saturday Storytimes at Orlando Public Library (Preschool, Toddler, Baby, Saturdays), Baby Storytime (Mondays) at Orlando Public Library (Mondays) and Toddler Storytime (Tuesdays) at Orlando Public Library (Tuesdays, themes vary; no session Dec 22).
What is there to do with toddlers in Orlando?
We list 5 places and 2 events in Orlando that welcome kids under 2, including Saturday Storytimes at Orlando Public Library (Preschool, Toddler, Baby, Oct 31 – Dec 26). See all 7 above. Age ranges for places are our own guidance.
What are the big family attractions in Orlando?
The best-known family attractions we list in Orlando are Magic Kingdom Park (Walt Disney World, Date-based ticket prices, see site) and Universal Orlando Resort (Date-based ticket prices, see site). See all 6 above. They're listed first under always-open places.
How much do Orlando family attractions cost?
Prices from the official sites for 5 places in Orlando: Gatorland (adult $34.99, kids 3–12 $24.99), SEA LIFE Orlando Aquarium (Tickets from $29.99 online in advance) and Orlando Science Center (adult $29, kids 2–12 $22). See all 5 above. Confirm before you go; prices change.
Our weekend search covers Phoenix Metro & Arizona for now, and more areas are coming soon. This guide is hand-checked the same way.
How we build this page: each event comes from the organizer's official website and shows the date we checked it. Prices marked verified were copied from the venue's official site; others show an estimated price level or "Not stated". A place is called free only when its official site says so. Read how we verify listings · Arizona weekend search.
See something that's off? Send us a correction.
Know a family event we're missing? Tell us about it.