Things to do with kids in Colorado Springs, CO
Checked · All times are local Mountain Time (Colorado Springs time)
Coming up in Colorado Springs: Trick or Treat Street in Old Colorado City (Oct 31), YMCA Turkey Trot 5K & Kids' Tiny Trot (Nov 26), Electric Safari at Cheyenne Mountain Zoo (from Dec 4) and 3 more events. 8 always-open places, led by Cheyenne Mountain Zoo and The Broadmoor Seven Falls. Prices and hours come from each official site.
Halloween & fall events in Colorado Springs
Trick or Treat Street in Old Colorado City
- When
- Sat, Oct 31 · 2–4:30pm
- Cost
- Not stated
- Ages
- Ages 1–6 · Outdoor
Safe trick-or-treating for kids ages 1–6 with a parent or guardian at participating shops, marked with yellow or orange balloons. One piece of candy per child per business.
✓ Checked Oct 25, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Thanksgiving events in Colorado Springs
YMCA Turkey Trot 5K & Kids' Tiny Trot
- When
- Thu, Nov 26 · Kids Tiny Trot 8:15am; 5K 9am
- Cost
- Kids Tiny Trot $0 (register); 5K registration fee
- Ages
- All ages · Outdoor
Thanksgiving morning 5K for 4,000+ runners and walkers plus a free Kids Tiny Trot. Leashed dogs can run with registered 5K runners.
✓ Checked Oct 25, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Christmas & holiday events: Santa and lights
Electric Safari at Cheyenne Mountain Zoo
- When
- Fri, Dec 4 – Fri, Jan 1 (Nightly Dec 4–Jan 1; closed Dec 24) · 5–8:30pm (last entry 7:30pm)
- Cost
- Zoo admission with an advance timed ticket; free for zoo members; Sky Ride $3 (2 and under free)
- Ages
- All ages · Outdoor
Holiday lights, a drone light show and animals after dark; Santa in the Safari Lodge nightly through Dec 23. Advance timed tickets required (on sale closer to the event); free with zoo membership.
✓ Checked Oct 25, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Festival of Lights Family Fun Day at the Pioneers Museum
- When
- Sat, Dec 5 · 10am–2pm
- Cost
- Free; please pre-register
- Ages
- All ages · Indoor
Music, crafts, face painting and family activities before the parade; hot chocolate and cookies outside the museum from 6pm.
✓ Checked Oct 25, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Festival of Lights Parade
- When
- Sat, Dec 5 · 5:50pm
- Cost
- Not stated. See the official page.
- Ages
- All ages · Outdoor
42nd annual lighted parade with nearly 100 entries, from Tejon & Boulder south on Tejon to Vermijo. Free parking in city garages from 3pm.
✓ Checked Oct 25, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Storytimes
Storytime at Penrose Library
- When
- Wed, Oct 28 – Wed, Dec 16 (Wednesdays) · 10:30–11:15am
- Cost
- Library program
- Ages
- Ages Ages 3–7 · Indoor
Stories, songs and activities for children ages 3–7 and their parents or caregivers.
✓ Checked Oct 25, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Always-open family places
Most popular first: zoos, aquariums and museums, then nature spots, parks and libraries. Prices come from each official site; "Not stated" means the site doesn't list one.
Cheyenne Mountain Zoo
- Price
- Not stated. See the official site.
- Best for
- Ages 0–17+ (our guidance)
Open daily 9am–5pm year-round; advance timed tickets; prices vary by date (see the zoo's ticket calendar)
✓ Details checked Oct 25, 2026 on the official website
The Broadmoor Seven Falls
- Price
- Online: adults $25 / kids (2–12) $19 before 1pm, $21 / $15 after 2pm; under 2 free
- Best for
- Ages 0–17+ (our guidance)
Seven waterfalls in a box canyon with stairs, trails and an elevator to the overlook; park at 1045 Lower Gold Camp Rd for the free shuttle; currently open Fri–Sun 9am–5pm (closed Mon–Thu)
✓ Price verified Oct 25, 2026 · source
Colorado Springs Pioneers Museum
- Price
- Free admission
- Best for
- Ages 0–17+ (our guidance)
Tuesday–Saturday 10am–5pm, in the 1903 El Paso County Courthouse
✓ Price verified Oct 25, 2026 · source
Western Museum of Mining & Industry
- Price
- Adult $14 · Child $7 (child 4-12)
- Best for
- Ages 0–17+ (our guidance)
3 and under free with a paid adult; guided tours included. Monday–Saturday 9am–4pm
✓ Price verified Oct 25, 2026 · source
U.S. Olympic & Paralympic Museum
- Price
- Not stated. See the official site.
- Best for
- Ages 0–17+ (our guidance)
Hours vary by season (10am–5pm, last ticket 4pm); see the museum's tickets page for prices. Parking across the street $7.50 per day
✓ Details checked Oct 25, 2026 on the official website
Garden of the Gods Visitor & Nature Center
- Price
- Park and Visitor & Nature Center are free
- Best for
- Ages 0–17+ (our guidance)
Open daily; free trail maps at the info desk. Movie, café and tours cost extra
✓ Price verified Oct 25, 2026 · source
Bear Creek Nature Center
- Price
- Not stated. See the official site.
- Best for
- Ages 0–17+ (our guidance)
Tuesday–Saturday 9am–4pm; two miles of self-guided nature trails
✓ Details checked Oct 25, 2026 on the official website
North Cheyenne Cañon Park & Starsmore Visitor Center
- Price
- Not stated. See the official site.
- Best for
- Ages 0–17+ (our guidance)
1,600-acre canyon park with Helen Hunt Falls and family trails; park 5am–9pm Nov–Apr (10pm May–Oct); Starsmore Visitor Center Tue–Sun 9am–3pm outside summer
Frequently asked questions
What is there to do with kids in Colorado Springs this weekend?
This weekend (Oct 30–Nov 1) we list 1 family event in Colorado Springs: Trick or Treat Street in Old Colorado City (Sat).
What time is trick-or-treating in Colorado Springs?
Sunset on Halloween in Colorado Springs is at 5:59 p.m. Colorado Springs doesn't list official trick-or-treat hours, so plan around dusk. Old Colorado City: Trick or Treat Street in Old Colorado City, Sat., Oct. 31, 2–4:30 p.m., W. Colorado Ave., 23rd to 28th streets.
What Halloween events are in Colorado Springs in 2026?
We list 1 Halloween or fall event in Colorado Springs: Trick or Treat Street in Old Colorado City (Sat, Oct 31).
What are free things to do with kids in Colorado Springs?
These are free according to their official sites: 1 place and 1 upcoming event in Colorado Springs, including Colorado Springs Pioneers Museum and Festival of Lights Family Fun Day at the Pioneers Museum (Sat, Dec 5).
Where can kids play indoors in Colorado Springs when it's cold or snowy?
We list 2 indoor places in Colorado Springs: Colorado Springs Pioneers Museum (Free admission) and U.S. Olympic & Paralympic Museum.
What Thanksgiving events can I take my kids to in Colorado Springs?
We list 1 Thanksgiving event in Colorado Springs: YMCA Turkey Trot 5K & Kids' Tiny Trot (Thu, Nov 26).
When and where can kids see Santa in Colorado Springs?
We list 1 event with Santa in Colorado Springs: Electric Safari at Cheyenne Mountain Zoo (Dec 4 – Jan 1).
Where can I take my kids to see Christmas lights in Colorado Springs?
We list 2 holiday light events in Colorado Springs: Electric Safari at Cheyenne Mountain Zoo (Dec 4 – Jan 1) and Festival of Lights Parade (Dec 5).
Are there storytimes or regular kids' programs in Colorado Springs?
We list 1 everyday program in Colorado Springs: Storytime at Penrose Library (Wednesdays).
What is there to do with toddlers in Colorado Springs?
We list 4 places in Colorado Springs that welcome kids under 2, including Cheyenne Mountain Zoo, Garden of the Gods Visitor & Nature Center and Bear Creek Nature Center. See all 4 above. Age ranges for places are our own guidance.
What are the big family attractions in Colorado Springs?
The best-known family attractions we list in Colorado Springs are Cheyenne Mountain Zoo and The Broadmoor Seven Falls (kids 2–12 $19). They're listed first under always-open places.
How much do Colorado Springs family attractions cost?
Prices from the official sites for 2 places in Colorado Springs: The Broadmoor Seven Falls (adult $25, kids 2–12 $19) and Western Museum of Mining & Industry (adult $14, kids 4–12 $7). Confirm before you go; prices change.
Our weekend search covers Phoenix Metro & Arizona for now, and more areas are coming soon. This guide is hand-checked the same way.
How we build this page: each event comes from the organizer's official website and shows the date we checked it. Prices marked verified were copied from the venue's official site; others show an estimated price level or "Not stated". A place is called free only when its official site says so. Read how we verify listings · Arizona weekend search.
See something that's off? Send us a correction.
Know a family event we're missing? Tell us about it.