Holiday lights near Huntsville for families (2026)
Checked · Covers Oct 31 – Jan 15 · All times are local Central Time
We list 4 holiday light events around Huntsville for Oct 31 – Jan 15: 2 displays running for weeks and 2 one-night events. Displays that run for weeks come first, then one-night parades and tree lightings around Huntsville. Popular nights can sell out, so check the official page before you go.
Light displays open for weeks
Galaxy of Lights at Huntsville Botanical Garden
- When
- Fri, Nov 13 – Thu, Dec 31 (Walking Nights Nov 13–25, Nov 27–29, Dec 2–5, Dec 16–24 and Dec 26–27; Driving Nights Dec 6–15 and Dec 28–31; closed Thanksgiving and Christmas Day) · Evenings; last ticketed entry 8:45pm on Walking Nights and 9pm on Driving Nights
- Cost
- Walking (advance, plus tax): $17–$24 adults and $10–$16 kids 3–15 depending on the night; gate $25/$16; Driving Nights $40 per vehicle; 2 and under free
- Ages
- All ages · Outdoor
A 1.75-mile walk through millions of lights and more than 70 musical pieces, with two new areas this year. Driving Nights let families see the lights from the car, and select Walking Nights add the Evergreen Express tram, dog nights and 4:30pm Sensory Hours. Buying ahead before 4:30pm on the day guarantees the best price.
✓ Checked Oct 31, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Tinsel Trail and Rocket City Tree Lighting
- When
- Fri, Nov 27 – Thu, Dec 31 (Trees on display daily Nov 27 – Dec 31; the Rocket City Tree lighting is Friday, Nov 27 at 6pm) · Opening night Nov 27: Black Friday Market 3–9pm, tree lighting 6pm, Santa and Mrs. Claus 6–8pm
- Cost
- Not stated. See the official page.
- Ages
- All ages · Outdoor
More than 450 live Christmas trees decorated by local businesses, nonprofits and families fill Big Spring Park. The season opens the day after Thanksgiving with the lighting of Downtown Huntsville’s Rocket City Tree, food trucks, live performances and pictures with Santa and Mrs. Claus.
✓ Checked Oct 31, 2026 on the organizer's official page
One-night light parades and tree lightings
VBC Christmas Tree Lighting
- When
- Fri, Nov 6 · Santa and cocoa 4–6pm; tree lighting 5pm
- Cost
- Not stated. See the official page.
- Ages
- All ages · Outdoor
The Von Braun Center’s first Christmas tree lighting, overlooking Big Spring Park: cellphone photos with Santa and Mrs. Claus with hot cocoa and cookies from 4pm, and the tree lights at 5pm. The official page says everyone is invited.
✓ Checked Oct 31, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Polar Express Christmas on Main (Madison)
- When
- Fri, Dec 4 · Tree lighting 6pm
- Cost
- Not stated. See the official page.
- Ages
- All ages · Outdoor
The official lighting of the decorated trees along Main Street at 6pm, with ornament decorating, carols, letters to Santa and a glow-stick parade, a reading of The Polar Express, hot chocolate and cookies, gingerbread houses, Snowflake Lane and a visit with Santa. The trees stay up through Jan 1.
✓ Checked Oct 31, 2026 on the organizer's official page
Frequently asked questions
When do holiday lights open around Huntsville in 2026?
2 light displays on our list run for weeks: Galaxy of Lights at Huntsville Botanical Garden (Huntsville, Nov 13 – Dec 31) and Tinsel Trail and Rocket City Tree Lighting (Huntsville, Nov 27 – Dec 31).
How much do ticketed light displays near Huntsville cost?
Prices from the official pages: Galaxy of Lights at Huntsville Botanical Garden (Walking, advance, plus tax: $17–$24 adults and $10–$16 kids 3–15 depending on the night). Prices can change by night.
Can kids see Santa at a light display near Huntsville?
Yes. 3 light events on our list have Santa: VBC Christmas Tree Lighting (Huntsville, Nov 6), Tinsel Trail and Rocket City Tree Lighting (Huntsville, Nov 27 – Dec 31) and Polar Express Christmas on Main (Madison, Madison, Dec 4). Some charge extra for Santa photos.
Which Huntsville-area cities have holiday lights events?
We list holiday lights events in 2 cities, including Huntsville (3) and Madison (1).
Our weekend search covers Phoenix Metro & Arizona for now, and more areas are coming soon. This guide is hand-checked the same way.
How we build this page: each event comes from the organizer's official website and shows the date we checked it. An event is called free only when its official page says so. Read how we verify listings.
See something that's off? Send us a correction.
Know a family event we're missing? Tell us about it.